Health, Safety & Environmental Assessment (ECS)

Health, Safety & Environmental Assessment (ECS)

You must have an up-to-date health and safety qualification in order to be awarded with an ECS card. Why? It’s designed to prevent accidents and promote safety and quality of work, to ensure all cardholders have a good level of health and safety awareness when on site.

You can meet the ECS H&S requirement by passing the ECS HS&E Assessment. Alternatively you might have a valid ‘exemption’ – this means you already hold a qualification that meets or exceeds the required level of H&S knowledge.

Unfortunately we cannot accept the CSCS H&S assessment, as the ECS test is specifically designed for health and safety relating to electrotechnical workers.

The ECS HS&E Assessment pass is valid for 2 years.for making an ECS application. You must submit your ECS application within that two-year period, or you’ll need to do a new assessment before your application can be processed.

ECS Health and Safety List of Approved Equivalent Exemptions

Applicants who are able to show they hold certain valid and current certificates are exempt from taking the ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment.

Assessments and Qualifications which allow a three year exemption:

Apprentices, Adult Trainees and Crediting Electrotechnical Competence (CEC) Scheme candidates who have been awarded an SQA/SJIB SVQ Level 3 in Electrotechnical Structures (Electrical Installation-Building and Structures) or an SQA/SJIB SVQ Level 3 in Electrical Installation. Both qualifications are awarded in Scotland.

Apprentices, Adult Trainees and Mature Candidate Assessment candidates who have been awarded an NVQ Level 3 Diploma in Installing Electrotechnical Systems and Equipment (Buildings, Structures & Environment. This qualification is awarded in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

CCNSG Safety Passport – National Course.
CCNSG Safety Passport – Renewal Course.
CCNSG Safety Passport – Supervising / Leading a Team Safely Course.
CITB Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS).
CITB Site Management Safety Training Scheme Refresher (SMSTS Refresher).
CITB Site Supervision Safety Training Scheme (SSSTS).
CITB Health, Safety and Awareness: Site Safety Plus.
Construction Skills Register CSR (Northern Ireland).
ECA Operative & New Entrant H&S Awareness course. (Available from December 2015)
ECITB Health & Safety Passport.
IOSH Managing Safely in the Engineering Construction Industry (ECITB module 4) – Full Certificate
IOSH Managing Safely in Construction.
IOSH Working Safely (on-line e–assessments are not an exemption)
NEBOSH Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety.
NEBOSH Level 3 General Certificate in Occupational Health & Safety.
NEBOSH Health and Safety at Work Qualification.
Safety Passport Alliance (SPA) Passport – Core Day.
Please Note: An ECS Health and Safety Assessment or any of the approved exemptions will be only accepted for one card application.

Need a CSCS Card ?